Kristian de Groot

Teacher, learnersofenglish.com
Hey everyone! I'm a teacher and podcaster. I spend most of my time learning Czech, improving my English, creating podcast episodes and, of course, teaching.
I loved this episode, not in the least because of, and I quote here:

It is a pretty interesting story, and it’s always nice to hear a story where almost everyone seems to win, and nobody needs to have their head cut off or be stabbed in the back.
It's true, and in fact, it's almost unbelievable, so now I'm curious to learn more about this family and Florence.

This episode reminds me of the fact that there's so much interesting history on the European continent. In the 90s I always wanted to visit other continents, but nowadays I'm more eager to explore Europe*. Especially now the EU is under pressure and some people tend to forget how much violence there was on the continent, before the EU was set up.

*That might be another reason why I chose Prague as my new home base.

Anyone with knowledge about the history of Florence or the Medici family, don't hesitate to share it here.

On a different note: 
Alastair, I'm really curious to hear more about 1) your research process in general, and 2) how you learnt to transform epic events that span across centuries into 18 minute stories.

It's an interesting podcast topic. Maybe I'll invite you one day to talk about it with me on my podcast... ;)

So, a few points.

I’m glad you found it interesting. I do too, and there is obviously a load more to say than I managed to fit into that episode. The early part of the Medici is the most interesting to me, but the struggle to get a foothold into the papacy is equally fascinating, and there is heaps more to say about their patronage of the arts.